Addendum to chess and identity

After posting yesterday, I spoke with my dad on the phone and he confirmed that 8 or 9 (all) of my grandfathers’ brothers and sisters were killed in ghettos and concentration camps during WWII.  I thought about the significance of this now.  Had they lived, I would have a big, Mexican sized family, with lots of second cousins…  It’s a sobering thought.

I am lucky though because both sets of my grandparents survived the Holocaust and have written memoirs in the last few years detailing our family history and experiences.  I am guilty of not having read them, of always leaving it for another day, especially since they’re in Russian which I’m not too good at reading.  I think though that day is today, or as soon as I get my hands on the copies.  As I read, I will share impressions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

